attraversiamo


here i am again
sitting on the same bench
in my favorite park
focusing on my thoughts
accompanied by a pen, a notebook, and an ipod,
surrounded by the sound of children playing
their energy and the smell of autumn are in the air

the sky is gray today
the air is warmer than usual
a draft hitting my naked arms
and it feels good
there’s a sound of ambulance passing by
wailing loudly
piercing my ears
breaking the stillness in the air
and bringing me back to the present
albeit temporarily
but enough to make me realize that Home is playing on my ipod

for the first time in this long journey
i feel good
i feel like I know the next step
but i didn’t get here through an easy route
the road ahead still looks foggy
but at least i know which way to go

every life deserves a pause
ever life needs a time to reflect
i realize and accept it now,
however, every pause will have to come to an end too
so who decides when to end the pause?
i do,
for my own only, of course

the winding, foggy and empty road is coming to an end
i can feel it
i know because i’m nearing a civilization
there’s a town ahead
i see lights
wait, they’re not just any light
those are lanterns
with a candle inside
oh, they’re beautiful
and i suddenly notice
that the song in my ipod has changed
Shine is playing

I realize then
life is beautiful
so what am i afraid of?

attraversiamo….


____________________________________________________________________________________________

I wrote this piece the day before, after discovering more new things about myself, too painful and private to share here. Instead of going home, I sat in the park and this piece just came out. You can call it a poem, or something else, I don’t care. It is what it is. The two musical pieces I mentioned are Michael Buble’s Home and Black Gold’s Shine. I attached their musical pieces here, courtesy of Youtube. The term “attraversiamo” is a tribute to Elizabeth Gilbert and her Eat, Pray, Love. It’s an Italian word, roughly means “let’s cross over.” To me it symbolizes taking a chance in making a change when facing something difficult. It means to go through the pain in order to get to the other side. Attraversiamo.

The piece above is an expression, a product of my long reflection. I hope those who are also going through a hard time will see their own lanterns too some day.

One thought on “attraversiamo

  1. that’s a wonderful piece of writing. i love it. this year, i have agonised over some things, and while i didn’t enjoy that part, i’m looking forward to starting a new chapter in my life.

    making a change, taking a chance, they’re daunting but hey, you gotta have some faith.
    and i, for one, believe that everything is going to be just fine.

    hope things are going well with you 🙂

Leave a Reply

