A Sign? A Message?


I don’t know about you, my readers, but I believe in signs that life, the universe, God, a Higher Power, or how ever you want to refer to this powerful phenomenon, what ever that you believe in, that things happen in life for a reason. We often missed these signs. I know I did, but at least I managed to pay attention to some, which I’d like to share one. It happened last night. It actually made me laugh. Nothing major, but it was somewhat comical and I shared it with a friend through email.

To my close friends, it’s a no surprise that things have been a little bit challenging lately for me. Actually, to label it as “a little bit” may be an understatement. Anyway, it was enough to cause me to reach out to some friends and family members. They know who they are.

Last night for the first time I opened my Yahoo Messenger, the first time in a long time. I usually kept it off and just checked email without wanting to chat to anyone. I don’t know what power that pushed me to open it last night. Maybe I smelled something in the air, maybe out of boredom, who knows. YM has a main page that pops up when you open your YM, which is different than the window with all of my contact list. The YM main page has been set up to be personalized with my name and some of my personal information because it’s saying “Hi” to me and telling me the temperature and weather outside. Go figure. Nothing is private anymore nowadays. Anyway, underneath the “Hi, [my first name]”, it says, “Sinking in quicksand? Lie on your back.” And oh dear, I just started cracking up in a big, loud laughter.

Great! So YM now seems to know my mental mindset too? I mean, really? Sinking in quicksand? Can there be a better and more accurate metaphor for me than that one? Seriously. Come on, YM, give it to me. Is that all you can do?

Okay, so I took the meaning of the statement in a metaphorical sense. It was probably meant to be taken literally, to be one of those random quotes that YM gives to people. Maybe it changes daily. I haven’t opened YM again today, so I won’t know if it changes on a daily basis. I’m somewhat afraid to discover what quote they have for me today. 😀  Anyway, I took the statement as a sign. No, wait. More like a message! No, coincidence? Wait, I know, serendipituous (is that even a word?) moment? Uuuugh… who cares!

The point is, it came to at the right time and I was in the right mindset to understood it in such a meaningful way. At a different time and in a different mindset, or to other people, that simple sentence could have been taken differently, probably to mean nothing. I especially paid attention to the second sentence “Lie on your back”, which is an important part. I took it to mean rely on those who can support me, support my back, watch my back, the ones who won’t let me drown, the ones who let me lie on my back.

And I tell you what; I have been doing just that, and am planning to continue to do so. I am also very grateful to every single one of them. I know one of these days, it will be my turn to be the one watching their backs. I hope they will allow me to be there too and that I can do it to my best. I sure know I wouldn’t be able to get to where I am now without their help.

So, my dear readers, someone wise (not!) in Yahoo headquarter gave me a good advice once, unintentionally. When you’re sinking in quicksand, lie on your back 😉

I’d like to also share some of my own favorite quotes. Who knows, maybe you need a sign too?

“You don’t drown by falling in the water; you drown by staying there.”  ~Edwin Louis Cole.

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.”  ~Winston Churchill. (This one was recently given to me by a close friend. It has stayed in my mind ever since. Thank you).

“He who has a why to live can bear almost any how.”  ~Friedrich Nietzsche.

“God gave burdens, also shoulders.”  ~Yiddish Proverb.

“God brings men into deep waters, not to drown them, but to cleanse them.”  ~John Aughey.

“A bend in the road is not the end of the road…unless you fail to make the turn.”  ~Author unknown.

3 thoughts on “A Sign? A Message?

  1. Just in case anyone is curious, the random message YM has for me today is “A sneeze can travel up to 100 mph.” Really??!! WOW!! I am so glad to know that! *throwing my hands up in the air* I’ve said it before, I’m a firm believer in learning as a life-long experience, and guess what, I just learn something valuable today. Hah!

  2. That’s why I frown in the office when someone sneezes without covering their nose and mouth. Their germs ricochet everywhere without them knowing it… 😀

    • I know, I agree.

      Guess what the YM message from today? “Tigers also have striped skin.” HUH??! whatever, yahoo. oh no, I feel a sneeze is coming… hachiu! excuse me.

Leave a Reply

