A Not So Strange Encounter


I encountered something major today, but this time it wasn’t strange at all (see a-strange-encounter), more like morbid or disturbing.

I was in the middle of my late afternoon walk again. It was at the same usual park. Nice day, sun was out in full force. The temperature was in the upper 80s. It was what I consider a comfortably hot temperature. Not bad at all. The park was not busy. Maybe because the temperature was already considered too hot and uncomfortable for many people here that it reduced significantly the amount of people who came to the park compared to when it was in the 60s or 70s last week. I saw people walking, running, riding bikes, fishing, sitting, sun bathing, and having their dogs walking/pulling them. I saw a few strollers too and kids running around. It was just nice and beautiful. Perfect, right? Of course!

I was walking on the track happily, and was on my fourth round actually, when out of the corner of my left eye I saw something small moving on the track not too far ahead of me. It was more like about 3 steps ahead of me. I stopped dead on my track. Looked closely. Couldn’t recognize it still, but then the object jumped straight up in the air and somehow landed on its opposite side. I finally realized that it was a frog. When I first saw it, it was on its back and then it landed on its stomach after the jump. I got even closer, and then….gasped. Oh…sick. I wish I hadn’t seen it.

The poor thing was probably ran over by something, maybe by one of the bikers in the park. I do think that some of them ride their bikes a little bit too fast. All I remember now from what I saw briefly was that the poor thing’s back was slashed open, revealing pink flesh tissues. I had to look away, covering my mouth. I thought about moving the poor thing to the side, to the grassy area, but I couldn’t. I really, really tried, even went back to it, but then…oh dear, I just didn’t have it in me to do it. It was still alive too. It kept moving. Its body jolted once in a while. I felt sick, horrible inside. I also never, never ever touched any reptile or amphibian before in my life. I didn’t even have anything to cover my hand that would help me to pick up the poor thing. I would have had to pick it up with my empty hand and I wasn’t sure I could do it without puking.

I felt so bad for the poor thing. So sorry, Mr. Kermit, I know I disappointed you. I hope somebody else helped him to the side of the track because I was too of a chicken to do it. If it would make Mr. Kermit or my readers feel any better, I lost the appetite (no pun intended) to continue with my walking exercise. In order to continue, I would have had to go back to the same spot again and again, and I just couldn’t do it. So I stopped, sat down at one of the benches.

Well, so my walking ended early today. It was about to rain anyway. Clouds were coming. I could even hear thunders in the distance. I also knew it was time for me to go when a small, grey spider landed on my lap. Ow-kay. To copy a famous line from one of my favorite characters in CM, “Garcia out!”, and let’s just say that I was almost out too. It made me jump for the second time. Damn spider, I didn’t know where it went after I wiped it away from my lap. I was so paranoid for a while that it went inside my shirt. Damn, damn, damn. Nothing worked for me in that park today.

And because I said damn too many times, there goes my opportunity to ever be freshly pressed on the front cover of WordPress blogging. Great!

Leave a Reply

