my battle


Credit to argentoliquido @ DeviantArt, titled Warmth

i hear my demon knocking on my door
this morning

demon: knock knock

me: nope,
not taking solicitation today
go away

i hear my demon walking back and forth
in front of my door
anxious
wanting to come in

demon: happy monday

me: which part of no that you don’t understand?
you are not welcomed today
and not ever

i hear my demon sighing
rejected
no choice but
to walk away, for now

caution,
it’s never gone completely
its smell
still lingering
somewhere around here
lurking
waiting for the right moment
to sneak its way in
perhaps
no knocking next time
so,
i’ll keep my guard up for now
maybe put up a sign
for my dear neighbors
it reads,
“watch out, loneliness is looking for a victim today”

“Happy Blue Monday and I’m sending warmth to you. Here’s thinking of you.”

This post is part of:

16 thoughts on “my battle

    • I can’t take the credit for the picture because I didn’t take it, but I chose it specifically because it’s not all cold blue, but it has some orange tone to reflect warmth, hence, title of the picture: Warmth. 🙂

    • Thank you, Joy. It’s one day at a time. Some days I win, some days I lose, but I keep the mentality that tomorrow may be better. Thanks for stopping by.

  1. ah – loneliness can be a difficult one to shake – keep your guard up! Thanks for stopping by my blue monday blog – you found a wonderful photo for your post.

  2. thank you, everyone, for stopping by and leaving me lovely comments. I will definitely stop by at yours too. Happy Blue Monday to you all and have a wonderful rest of the week.

Leave a Reply

