Friday’s Fave Five


Friday’s Fave 5 has a pretty badge that I have to put in the opening of this post. Won’t you agree with me? This is my first time participating in FFF. For those of my readers who are not familiar with it, it is a prompt for bloggers like me to write 5 favorite things or 5 things that we are thankful for this week. You can click on the badge above to be taken to the website that starts the FFF prompt. It just happens too that I have been having a somewhat rough week, emotionally, on my first participation. However, perhaps that’s wherein lies the challenge that requires me to dig a little bit deeper this week. I am hoping that on future Fridays I won’t have to do too deep of a digging to find those 5 favorites.

So here are my five faves from this week:

1.  The first one on my list has to be this BLOG. My blogging activity has saved me this week. If it weren’t for my blog, I honestly wouldn’t know how I could have survived this week. My blog has been functioning as a form of release for me to express what’s in my mind. I have so many things clogging my mind this week but for one reason or another I felt like I couldn’t express them verbally. Hence, they come out through my writing. Needless to say, It’s been a very productive week in writing poetry. W.B. Yeats wrote, “Out of the quarrel with others we make rhetoric; out of the quarrel with ourselves we make poetry.”

2. Despite the rain last night and on the day before, we’ve been having some nice days with the sun out in full force. I am thankful for those sunny days, even though on some days I still had to wear a jacket. It’s amazing how much the sun can influence my life, my mood, and my attitude. I try not to give it too much power over my life, which I managed to do it successfully on some days but not all the time. What has helped me when I feel down during a sun-less day is the thinking that tomorrow will be better. I rely on that thinking deeply because it’s the only thing sometimes that I have left to help me through the day. See, it offers me a feeling of hope, which I need tremendously right now.

3. If you have been following my writing, you can probably guess how I spent my late afternoon during those sunny days. Yup, you’re right. I walked outdoor. I love my walk. It’s my escape and my exercise. I use the walk as a time where I ponder on things that happen in my life. I always walk alone, not necessarily by choice, but because I have nobody else to walk with. Because I walk alone, it gives me an opportunity to be alone with my thoughts, uninterruptedly.

4. That last sentence in the previous point then brings me to another favorite, solitude. The true solitude that I managed to have this week has been my refuge, saved me from going deeper into the abyss. I call it “true solitude” because I try to separate it from the kind of solitude that borders with loneliness. To have a true solitude time where I truly feel peace and not bothered with a slice thought of loneliness is rare for me. Luckily I was able to experience a little bit of that true solitude this week when I needed it the most, which I am very thankful for.

5. Lastly, I received a piece of good news earlier this week about a friend of mine who is going through a difficult time with an illness. She went through a surgery earlier this week and the surgery went well. God answered my prayers and I am very thankful. The road of recovery is still long for my friend, though, and she can still slip back into darkness at any time during this unstable stage, I can only offer her my friendship and prayers at this time, but I hope to give her more of my time directly in the future as I am coming closer to accompany her in her recovery. I just hope that God continues to hear my prayers and allow me to see her again. She is a dear friend and that kind of friendship is hard to find.

Well, those are my fave five for this week. Do you have your own fave five? Perhaps you would like to share them too? Have a wonderful weekend to all of my readers. May peace be with us all.

14 thoughts on “Friday’s Fave Five

  1. I very much agree with you on blogging ! I am forced to go out take pictures, write, meet people etc, which otherwise I wouldn’t do probably ! It really keeps me busy in my retirement !

    • Hi Gattina, here’s a rhyme for you

      you and I differ
      yours called retirement
      mine unemployment
      but this blogging enjoyment
      is what we share

      Keep up the blogging!

  2. just found your blog for the first time…welcome to the FFF!!! great list….hope your next week is better for you emotionally….i’ve been there done that and can soooo relate to the things you said about walking and the sun. my spiritual temperament is Naturalist so it is my times outside in Nature when I feel closest to the Lord. have a great weekend!!

    • thank you! I’m very happy to be joining FFF. More to come in the future. Walking and the sun, hopefully we can both continue to have them in the future. Such a blessing to have them. You have a great weekend too.

  3. Welcome to FFF! I know what you mean about both walking and writing — they’re good for me and my mind and my spirit. I just love that Yeats quote, too.

    Have a great week ahead.

  4. Welcome to FFF! I love participating and it is even more meaningful when you have to dig deep to unearth those highlights. Good for you that you were able to do so!

    I love sunshine and always feel better on sunny days. I seem to get more accomplished then!

    Solitude is a very valuable thing. I find that is when I can hear God’s voice best.

    Have a great week, and keep blogging!

    • thank you, Jerri! I love to be able to join FFF, and hopefully more posts at FFF in the future, more writing, more walking, more sun, more solitude, phew….that’s a lot of hopes. You have a great week too.

  5. oh i didnt know about this…my fav five would be:
    -reading the stories on my post (they are very interesting)
    -butter beans
    -homemade roti
    -three day vacation
    -and grocery shopping this evening!!!! (haha im such a foodie)

    • Hi Eva, nice to see you again. Hmm…you should blog this too if you haven’t yet. And that homemade roti, have you blogged that one yet? I’d like to see pictures of it. Thanks for continuing to come back. I need to finish that one challenge from your blog too, about finishing sentences. I’m still working on it.

  6. it has been nice getting to know you through your fff post and your replies to the comments, olive tree. i also welcome you to this community and very helpful exercise.

    i don’t do much writing right now (broken shoulder). i do write a daily sentence or two of gratitude in addition to doing the fff. those two things help me maintain a proper perspective.

    but i have to admit that the sun, my frequent daily walks (part of my physical therapy schedule) quality friendships and solitude all greatly influence my mood and thinking as well.

    your friend is blessed to have you in her life. encouragement no matter how it is given is a vital part of healing. at least i’ve found that to be true in my life.

    take care and may God’s blessings surround you this week.

  7. Welcome to Friday’s Fave Five! So glad that you joined in.

    I too am thankful for sunny days. We finally had one after a week and a half of rain and clouds.

    Blogging can be a very therapeutic way to express and get thoughts out.

    Your prayers and friendship is most likely very precious to you friend at this time. She is blessed to have you there for her.

Leave a Reply

