Catching Shadows in Downtown Chicago


Hey Harriet at Hey Harriet Photography has this wonderful meme called Shadow Shot Sunday, which is what this post is participating in. To see more wonderful photos, you can click Mr. Linky link at the bottom of her post about this week’s Shadow Shot Sunday. These pictures were taken at downtown Chicago last week with my small, automatic camera and my amateur photography skills.

“An optimist is a person who sees only the lights in the picture, whereas a pessimist sees only the shadows. An idealist, however, is one who sees the light and the shadows, but in addition sees something else: the possibility of changing the picture, of making the lights prevail over the shadows.”

The view of part of the Chicago River and the boardwalk. Taken from the Michiigan Avenue bridge.

The view of Chicago River taken from the same location, but I had to cross to the other side of Michigan Avenue to take this shot.

The plaque on Michigan Avenue bridge. This bridge will go up every time tall boats pass by. The new Transformer movie that is coming out this summer was filmed in this area and on this bridge.

Michigan Avenue bridge.

An unfair sun sure causes a perfect shadow.

Skyscraping, anyone?

My entertainer for the day.

A shadow casting over the Tribune Store. Please, no literal interpretation here 😉

This post is part of:

4 thoughts on “Catching Shadows in Downtown Chicago

  1. I lived in Chicago as a very young child, and haven’t been back since, but your photos have whetted my appetite for a little trip to the Windy City!

    I ALMOST LOST MY SHADOW

    I almost lost my shadow,
    I left it in the park;
    I heard my mommy calling,
    For it was getting dark;

    She has no use for shadows,
    She thinks they are quite grim,
    And when she saw my shadow,
    She thought it was a “him.”

    I had to educate her
    And tell her it was “she”—
    And now my faithful shadow
    Is welcome as can be!

    © 2011 by Magical Mystical Teacher

    Shadows in the Barrio

    • Wow, nice poem there. I love how you always leave a poem behind where ever you go. I appreciate seeing your tracks all over other blogs I have visited. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

