Dog Bless You…Woof!


It’s Memorial Day weekend here in the U.S. A long weekend, a three-day holiday. I don’t have much to say about Memorial Day other than the fact that I appreciate what the military has done to this country, to the regular folk like most of my readers and me, and to freedom. Having said that, I also want to declare here that I do not agree with war. This post, however, is not a forum for political debate (or should I say an economy/business debate about how financially benefiting a war can be to certain businesses? Nah, let’s move on).

There is something worth to point out, though. It is about how this country has treated their veterans. Now, for this issue, I can be passionate. From personal stories I heard directly from friends, ex-clients, and other people I met in the past to stories that can be gathered through online media, it is really an embarrassment how little treatment and support many veterans get after they came back from duty.

I found this article below from a facebook friend. It is about using pet therapy to help veterans who have been diagnosed with post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). It is a facebook page called Dog Bless You that for 5000 likes, a pet is being donated.  They have 100 dogs ready for this.  The dogs are donated by explore.org, which is part of the Annenberg Foundation.  This Dog Bless USA Challenge runs until July 4th. If you have a facebook account, please LIKE the website and then pass the information around to your family and friends. If you don’t have a facebook account, then you can join me by passing this information around either through your blog or word of mouth.

For more information about this challenge, you can read more here.  Dog Bless You is very grateful, the veterans of the U.S. I’m sure are also grateful, and the dogs are grateful too. There are so many dogs in shelters around the U.S. that will be put to death if they’re not adopted, and so what would be a better way to help them than this. To train a dog, however, is costly (in the thousands of dollars).

Both photos are courtesy of Dog Bless You Challenge campaign.  Again, you can click here to take you directly to the facebook website: Dog Bless You.

This post is part of:

9 thoughts on “Dog Bless You…Woof!

  1. It sounds like a wonderful project.

    Thanks for linking to I Saw Sunday. I hope you enjoy visiting the other entries and that you will come back and join us again. 🙂

  2. Hello, Olive Tree. Thanks for calling on 1513fusion.
    You write on an important theme – how to help veterans. Here, in the UK, the charity British Legion tries to cover the gaps that the government leaves. It was founded to help neglected wounded service people from WW1. I help them when I’m able .

    best wishes

    Harry

  3. I agree about what you have said about the veterans.

    My father-in-law and husband are both vets. Hubby just retired from the navy last year.

    Glad that there are organizations doing this kind of activities for the veterans. Happy Memorial day.

Leave a Reply

