If I Could Talk


“In matters of principle, stand like a rock.” ~Thomas Jefferson

To the visitors of the park:

i refuse to be taken down by nature
i refuse to let go off my duty
i refuse to continue without this view before me
i will stay here until all my legs give up

if you want to help
take care of me, not just watch me falling into pieces
appreciate me, not just use me
build me, not just break me

i know i have no voice, but you have a heart
i know i am small, but you can do more
i know i am nothing alone, but you are many things
i know i am easy to be replaced, but you are irreplaceable

As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.  ~John Fitzgerald Kennedy

Thank you very much to Jingle Poetry’s invitation to join Poetry Potluck this week, even though I’m not following their prompt for this week. However, perhaps we can always ask the question, who is the bench’s boss, who’s in charge, who makes the decision? So with this thought to reflect, I decided to join Poetry Potluck. Please click the picture below to see plenty more of poems.

13 thoughts on “If I Could Talk

  1. love it,
    you have penned down the bench’s voices very well.
    cheers.

    What a thrill to land on your amazing poetry land.
    Cheers.
    Come sharing your poetry with us today,
    First time participants are welcome sharing 1 to 3 random poems or poems unrelated to our theme.

    Blessings.
    Hope to see you linked in.
    Happy Tuesday!
    Hugs.
    xoxox

  2. Thank you, Jingle. I finally decided to join. My only reservation for not joining right away is that I have a limited time this week to be able to visit other blogs. I will try my best to do so, especially those who visit me, but I can’t promise much. I appreciate your invitation and encouragement, though. It’s the reason why I keep writing. Thank you again. Happy Tuesday and a wonderful week for you too.

  3. Whenever I see a park bench or a picnic table destroyed, most of the time by a group of angry disaffected teens, it makes me sad. So sad that something so simple and yet so important was taken away like that. So sad how people have no consideration whatsoever for the feelings and needs of others.

    Thanks for this very touching piece.

    • My sentiment exactly too. Not only that it was destroyed, but nobody fixed it. Not even the park staff. Thank you for visiting and commenting. I appreciate it.

  4. I have always been fascinated with the personification of in inanimate objects you’ve done so masterfully but there’s also great wisdom in how we should treat each other

Leave a Reply

