Taking a Break


I’ve been having a period of writer’s block for several days now. I used to have plenty to say or write about, but lately I’ve been feeling kind of dry, empty, a lack of idea, a lack of inspiration, and even motivation to write. The reasons for this situation seem to be a few, and one of them is work. My mind has been taken by too many work-related things that by the time I get home I tend to feel exhausted. It’s not necessarily my body that’s exhausted, but mostly my mind. Another reason is probably because I’m undergoing a lot of stress right now. The stress has something to do with facing something from my past that will create more stress in the near future. It’s something that I’ve been delaying and whether I like it or not, sooner or later, I have to face it. Thus, here I am, facing it now. I will need my energy to focus on this one, possibly followed by plenty of meditation and relaxation time πŸ˜€ .

The third reason has to do with how I feel regarding the quality of my work lately. To a certain degree I feel like my production of poetry lately has been relying mostly on prompts. I long for those days in the past when I could produce something, whether a poem or an essay, about anything that I wanted. Lately, I’ve been going from one prompt to another, mainly for the purpose of getting to know other bloggers, writers and poets and their work, and of course, getting traffic into my blog to receive feedback. At this point, I feel that I have fallen into a habit of relying on those prompts to produce something and neglecting my own instinct, intuition, and ideas on what to write.

My fear of taking a break now, however, is that I will lose the community support of people that have either stopped by to my blog on a regular basis or subscribed to my blog. Perhaps it is a mistake to think that way, but regardless, I do think a break is needed for me right now. I’m hoping that by taking a break I can focus back on my own ideas and messages that I would like to send to others through my blog. I remember during the first year of this blog, I used to write about things that I found interesting from my surroundings. I’d like to go back to that, to write things about what I pick up from my social surroundings into either an essay or a poetic form, or even into a form that I’d like to be more familiar with in the future, fiction.

How long is this break going to take? I’m not sure. It may be a few days only, a week, or longer. I hope it won’t be too long. With my strong need to express myself and my mind, I can see the break to be a short time. However, other situations that are currently going on in my life may take so much out of my energy and time, and therefore, would be the only reason that will keep me away from this lovely blog of mine for a long period of time.

I will also use this break time to do more visiting to and reading other blogs, perhaps as part of my way to search for ideas and motivate myself. For those who have subscribed to my blog and those who I too have followed for quite some time, I will use this break to visit yours. I am still around, not neglecting my blog for sure. I just need to change slightly on how I get my inspiration. I realize now those prompts have a little bit of similarity with playing games on facebook: they can be addicting! πŸ˜‰ And damn it, that actually just gave me an idea on what to write next, things that can be addicting. But I’ll get back to that later. Right now, I have other things to do, and yup, they’re work-related. Urggghhhhh!

9 thoughts on “Taking a Break

  1. Ah.. finally you put a picture here.. and is that your uniform? πŸ™‚ Can you believe that you actually going back wearing uniforms? πŸ™‚

    • That’s a batik shirt that we wear every Wednesday. Got it from Batik Keris store. It’s NOT a uniform. I refuse to wear a uniform, thank you. Although I must say there’s a comfort in wearing a uniform because it lessens the time in the morning to choose which shirt should I wear for that day. That time in the morning in front of my closet is the one I dislike the most about my morning routine. So, I love Wednesday because it’s smooth in the morning. No decision has to be made πŸ™‚

      • So technically, it is a uniform! πŸ™‚
        See the definition:
        uΒ·niΒ·form    [yoo-nuh-fawrm]
        adjective
        1. identical or consistent, as from example to example, place to place, or moment to moment: uniform spelling; a uniform building code.
        2. without variations in detail: uniform output; a uniform surface.
        3. constant; unvarying; undeviating: uniform kindness; uniform velocity.
        4. constituting part of a uniform: to be issued uniform shoes.
        5. Mathematics . occurring in a manner independent of some variable, parameter, function, etc.: a uniform bound.
        6. an identifying outfit or style of dress worn by the members of a given profession, organization, or rank.
        7. a word used in communications to represent the letter U.
        8. to make uniform or standard.
        9. to clothe in or furnish with a uniform.

        • wiiiih, Gran, Gran, nulis opo iku? kamu itu pasti dirasani ambek konco-koncoku sing baca tulisanmu. paling mereka ngomong gini, arek sing nulis iki gendheng yo? opo OCD be-e?

          hahahah… google dewe OCD iku opo. :p

  2. I take looooong breaks – poetry is a weird hobby, it’s mentally draining. I can take pics anytime but poetry requires more concentration than I always have. I find it always comes back even when I let it go for months or years. It will always return.

  3. Pingback: miscellani.org/blog/ » New

Leave a Reply

