A Departing Gift


Image credit to r3novatio @DeviantArt, titled Down the River

beneath the thatched roof
we stood in silence
watching the river flowing in front of us
i touched your hands
i whispered those words to you
words that i’ve said in my sleep
a thousand times
but your eyes
they’re like a hearth of stones
abandoned by its fire
not a flash of lightning
left in those eyes
i was forced to grope the empty wall
with my bare hands
inside the tunnel of fear
in the dark
confused and lost
to find my way out

you made your decision
to close the gate
long time ago
a bubbling of hope existed
now crushed
fluttering eyes
trying to hold back tears
you left me with no other choice
than to turn away
but you’ve forgotten something
you gave me a gift
the last piece of the puzzle that
my life has been missing
and i will live for my gift
even without holding it
in my hands

that day in the forest
was the last day i touched you
we stood next to each other
but we were strangers
you never looked at me
you didn’t stay long
not a goodbye
not a smile
and you’re gone

Leave a Reply

