It is IT!


i let it take me anywhere
everywhere, all over the place
to the places in this world that
i’ve never been or never will
and to a known place called the past
i let it stay alive in me
becoming whatever feeling
it wants me to be
joyful, excitement
sadness, loneliness, desperation
longing, hunger, exasperation

i let it disturb me
put me in tears
knock me upside down
churn my stomach until i get sick
or put me in a spell
moving my head and hands without me noticing
making me up on my feet
taking me on a dance around the room
allowing my fantasy to run wild
testing my limit to the core

yes, i can’t live without it
it needs people like me to adore it
to appreciate it
to love it
to raise it high to the sky
it’s my language
my expression
every drop of my blood screams for it
it’s my nourishment
my drug
my addiction

it’s in my everyday language
i speak it fluently
not a day passed without it
i hear it
i hear ’em all the time
haunted by them day and night
and nowhere else to turn
am slaved by it sometimes
no other way than
to surrender

no, I’m not talking about love
not even about Rumi’s magical poetry
or any other poems
it’s something deeper than that
i live in its notes
in its rhythm
in its instrument
in its sound
it’s where i go to hide
to dream
and to hope

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back into loneliness.
~ Maya Angelou~

*I hope you have guessed by now what IT is. Yes, it’s music. I wish I can share with you a list of my magical IT, but I’m afraid the list is too long. Once in a while I put them as part of my poetry writing because some songs have inspired me to write when the mind was completely blank. The best part about music, though, is to be awed by it, especially by new songs. There have been so many moments when I first heard a new song and it felt like the world around me stopped for a moment…until that song was over. Moment like that is what I call magical. It’s when they can make me speechless and take me on a journey far, far away. I’m positive you all have your magical IT too. Never stop listening to them, never stop being inspired by them.

Leave a Reply

