On Future


“The future is an opaque mirror.  Anyone who tries to look into it sees nothing but the dim outlines of an old and worried face.”  ~Jim Bishop

Image credit to lysflies @ DeviantArt, titled Brave yourself for tomorrow

a test in trusting

teetered, tainted by darkness

deeply Terrified

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

from four spells to one

the passage is never light

heart trembling with fear

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

on my path You hold

the lantern to happiness

thus, i surrender

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

a new page breathing

music starts, pen dancing to

the tune of life, fresh

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

one need not be blind

with faith and hope as weapons

when facing unknown

Image credit to Virgard @ DeViantArt, titled Blind Hope

“Every tomorrow has two candles, We can take hold of it with the handle of anxiety or the handle of faith.”  ~ Henry Ward Beecher

This post is part of:

24 thoughts on “On Future

  1. This is truly lovely trusting is a frightening vulnerable experience and you’ve really captured the importance of surrendering and letting go in order to experience any type of love or contentment

  2. Mike Patrick, mindlovemisery, Bodhirose, isabella and Jingle, thank you for your kind words. I too love this post, came from a deep place inside. Future is wonderful topic for me to write right now, because it’s where I feel the most vulnerable. Hence, the poems. Have a wonderful weekend, everyone.

  3. Judith, Hema, RegMystr, and Luna, thank you very much, friends. I love your work too and it’s always a pleasure to read your supportive comments. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  4. Very nice work. I would like to say I caught myself reading a few times the last words. My mind wanted to add to it and say “the unknown” … but then I thought perhaps the blindfold in the picture is a “facing” , so thats just my thought.
    I found “the lantern of happiness, thus, I surrender” very touching.

  5. My dear readers who have been commenting, I’m sorry that I haven’t been able to respond for each comment, but I tried to visit your blog and enjoyed your writing. It’s been a blessing to exist among so many excellent writers whom I can learn from and rely on your kind words to support me through my own journey of writing. Thank you for stopping by and especially leaving me such kind words, everyone. From the bottom of my heart, I just want to say that your comments are very much appreciated.

Leave a comment