Off Balance


a block
a sigh
an empty screen
been a while now
fingers not itchy to work
so, this is what a block feels like
i get it, ‘kay?
now what?
wait, let’s check the mind first
idea box?
empty
inspiration checklist?
what list?
motivation department?
ain’t no one working
intuition?
gone
perception?
quit!
no senses are working right
dry as an empty road in the middle of a Texas desert
did i take a wrong turn earlier?
feels like something is off
i’m out of touch
it’s just not fitting
any doctor in the house?
i might need fixing
missing someth…

 

Submitted to One Single Impression, Prompt: Wrong and Theme Thursday, Prompt: Balance.

9 thoughts on “Off Balance

  1. When things aren’t right for doing what we are supposed to be doing I do something not in my duty list. Like writing a poem or a blog post. đŸ™‚
    We can be very creative on our own without having to rely on what someone else puts in our box. Have more fun too. That is for while it lasts. I think your poet was at work so work has to get done even when the boxes are empty.
    ..

  2. I think I have been blocked on and off for almost two years now. I used to have a schedule about what to write, then I kept getting sidetracked and it seemed as if I could never follow the schedule again. Oh well such is life.

    And you have described the thoughts and feelings one gets so well. I feel for you.

    Thank you so much for sharing this for this weeks Theme Thursday, it was nice to have you play. Hope you like the new theme.

    God bless.

  3. Dry as an empty road in the middle of a Texas desert. Know what that looks like. Just about describes it. Hope you find some inspiration and the block lifts soon.

Leave a comment