Oh Hey, Thanks!


a slice of bread
a dab of butter
a sprinkle of chocolate
caressing this tongue inside
twisted and turning
finally melted, drowning
ah, a litte dab perhaps afterwards
all satisfied
i’d like to thank my tastebud
for being there
for the moment
for giving me a favorite first meal in the day,
Indonesian style

a sunset
a multi-hue sky
a paddy terrace
a dark mountain on the horizon
it’s a playground for all flying and quacking
or any four-legged ones
to play and shout
where roaming is free of charge
they breathe life into this painting
and like a magnet
these eyes are glued
oh, what a sight it is
i thank you, eyes,
for not failing me,
yet

a greeting
a children’s choir
a prayer
a love song
an explosion
a scream!
a traffic sound
a silence
each sound arouses a feeling
each is attached to a memory
they give color to this inner world
i hear,
therefore i thank

i knit
i type
i walk
i dance…
…and twist, while still can
oh, my limbs!
you’re still there!
my, you complete me

********************************************************
This is brought to you by this humble blogger and submitted to the Gooseberry Garden Poetry Picnic Week 14, Prompt: What I’m Thankful For In My Life.

While it’s true that I’m thankful for the things I said in this poem, I am actually thankful for so many more things in my life, some I have said in my previous blog entries this year and from last year. I end this poem here because it’s perfect this way to me. However, in addition to the people in my life that have helped me through my so-called journey and changed me to become a better person (whether they realize their impact on me or not), I actually would like to also thank one thing that I haven’t been appreciating enough, my MIND. I wouldn’t be able to do what I do now and be where I am now without my mind. So I thank God for giving me enough sanity so I could function normally, or what seem normal to most people. 😉

With this blurp, I’d like to end this post by wishing all of my readers, who live in the U.S. or celebrate the U.S. Thanksgiving, a wonderful day of giving thanks and appreciating life for what we have. Many blessings to you all.

3 thoughts on “Oh Hey, Thanks!

Leave a comment